Create and launch an Android game in a month

I like historical simulation games very much.
My favorite historical simulation game is the Total War series from Creative Assembly and Romance of the Three Kingdoms from Koei.
I had already made a history simulation game titled Myth of Ambitions in 2000.
It was not a successful game, but it was very significant that I completed the historical simulation game I wanted to make since middle school.
In addition, a game called Myth of Ambitions was a meaningful game that made me win two awards.

야망의신화에 대한 이미지 검색결과

After completing Myth of Ambitions, I planned a second historical simulation game.
However, unfortunately, I only spent trying two or three times for data collection and planning works in 15 years.
I recently decided to take the 15 year old project and make it into an Android game.
In creating Myth of Ambitions, I was only responsible for planning and development, and CG work was a professional designer’s work.
This time, I did all the planning and development as well as CG work, script work, and translation work.
It was quite difficult and I had a lot of work, but I am very happy to have accomplished it.

IMG_0053

I used the new iPad and Apple Pencil for my CG work. It was nice to be able to draw pictures quite easily and quickly.
And I made a game to support both Hangul and English.
Previously, I have implemented multilingual support through translation work in English, Chinese and Japanese for my work, but this is the first time I have directly supported multilingual support for my personal projects.
In addition, all previously created Android games supported Landscape mode. Since users wanted Portrait mode, I designed the game screen to fit in Portrait mode.

 

About a month after I started the project, the game was completed.
So I signed up for the Google Play Store.
It was a very rewarding experience because it was aimed at making historical simulations that deal with the history of Korea, not games made to make money anyway.
If time is given in the future, I plan to continue to develop this.
Of course, I am planning to make an iPhone version or a Windows version.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.openmindworld.imjinwar

 

Leave a comment